top of page


Curra Swans came about with the amalgamation of two proud clubs,Townsville Swans (previously South Townsville) and Currajong.

South Townsville had been a foundation club of the Townsville Football League founded in 1954 and Currajong had entered the competition in 1961. Both clubs had been successful in their own right over

many years but economical times had caught Townsville Swans up.

In 1989 the two clubs merged to become Curra Swans. The new club was to reach a pinnacle in 1997 winning the first of three in a row A grade Premierships. The hard work of the likes of Jim Muldoon, Eric Johns and Graham Nicol had paid off

bottom of page